Underground Abandonment

DSC_3610

In a residential car park in a UK city lies a collection of abandoned cars…
I found out about the car park through a friend who owns an apartment there and has access to the underground parking facilities, my friend told me of an abandoned e36 328 cabriolet that had sat in his allocated parking space since before he’d moved in over a year ago, he had spoken to the car parks security who admitted they didn’t know who owned it either.


My friend had said I or anyone I knew could have the car for spares as long as it was removed soonish. I had no need for the car so didn’t take him up on his offer, instead I took a wander around the car park to see what other treasure I could find.
I was shocked and surprised at the amount of abandoned looking cars which were dotted around the car park, they were thick with dust, some of them were unlocked and a few had handwritten graffiti on them.
A car in particular caught my eye, a Volvo 480 GT which although dusty and fitted with odd wheels looked not too bad and something worth saving.

I asked my friend about the other cars which definitely looked abandoned and he said that some of the other residents had thought about applying for the v5’s and trying to gain ownership and keeping the cars for themselves.
I heard of one car, a 106 gti which had been stolen and dumped in the car park, the insurance had been paid out already and neither the police or previous owners were bothered about removing it from the car park.
I was surprised about the amount of modern cars which seemed to be forgotten about. A Renault Megane and Skoda Fabia sit covered in dust and scratches.


My friend keeps 3 of his cars there, a Peugeot 309, Ford Capri and a Mercedes w123 limo and has never had any issues but did mention that the cars did get dusty if left for a few weeks without getting washed regularly.


A week later I went back to find that all of the abandoned cars had been cleared by the car park security, my only hope is that they weren’t sent straight to the crusher and perhaps were given a chance to be saved…

Leave a comment